Living the dream

I was born in the eighties, and depending on how you define the eighties, it could mean big hair, flashy colors and pointy shoes. Or it could mean economic recession. Oh wait… all of that is back in fashion, including economic recession…

My father was a university professor and we had a house that looked more like the Congress library, books, books and more books everywhere. I did not like my father’s job. I wanted him to quit his job and open a toy store. “You could make more money and I can play with the toys” I would tell my dad.  Well, needless to say my argument was not convincing. And fast forward to the present time, my family moved to Qatar and I now work at a university. What an irony. I am not a professor however; I work in the field of IT.  I write or buy software that fulfills the needs of our users being faculty, staff or students. The keyword here is “fulfills need of the users”. From a young age I received complements on how I relate to people and their needs and match my responses to the details of a situation. An example that my mother likes to repeat is that one day I got back from school, rang the bell and my dad crack opened the door and jokingly said “this is the wrong house” so I respectfully said sorry and turned around ready to leave…. He quickly stopped me of course. My brother did the same thing a few days later but this time, I pushed the door and said “people inside know me”.

Sometime ago I read this quote “A winner is someone who recognizes his God- given talents, works his tail off to develop them into skills and uses these skills to accomplish his goals.” Intrigued by this quote, I started thinking about other talents that I naturally came with. So over the last several years I went back and started experimenting with things: I learned to knit. I learned to swim. I learned to groom and care for horses. I learned to read for enjoyment. From my experiments, this is what I learned about myself:  I love cars so I bought a Mustang.  I love and excel in learning languages so after mastering English; I started learning two other languages French and Spanish.  I love poetry so I took a poetry workshop and started composing. I love to travel so I make plans to visit at least one new country every year. So far I have been to Malaysia, Cyprus, Sri Lanka, UK, US, France, Seychelles, Lebanon, Jordan, Spain and Indonesia. I love the idea of owning a business and my dream is to start one on my own. It may not be the toy store that I wanted when I was little but I have other ideas that I want to pursue.

I read this other quote recently, “The best way to make your dreams come true is to wake up.” This can be a challenge if you are not a morning person and love sleep as much as I do. But I don’t think the author meant it in the literal meaning of awakening but rather in the continuous realization of our strengths, the opportunities around us and our individualities that may have been dimmed by the desire to be like our mother, farther, brother, sister, school teacher, Steve Jobs, Oprah Winfrey,  or Warren Buffet. You probably noticed that I am a fan of quotes, so here is a final one “You were born an original, don’t die a copy”.  So why fit in when you can stand out. Wake up, be a winner and live your dream!

Leave a Reply

